Skip to content

Reconned kid’s halter, fish, bicycles, and vintage ric-rac

August 1, 2011

I found this fabulous 3/4th length baseball style shirt in a size S (not surewhose age category S) with red sleeves at a thrift store. The front says the quote, “A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle.” –Irina Dunn and the back says: ECHHS Women’s Caucus” and some sponsor names. I immediately thought, “that must be a dress NOW for a very special girl whose mother is one of the funniest people I know–Rachel Diroll-Zack, who was recently featured on The Mamafesto’s series, “This is What a Feminist Looks Like” on the July 31, 2011 post.

I chopped it up and only using existing pieces of the shirt. I went through a million revisions in my mind and made it up as I went. I even found vintage ric-rac from my mother’s stash while looking for red bias tape that said “3 for 10 cents.” Crazy! The vintage ric-rac was also used in the recon Valentine’s Day project for my older daughter for her first Valentine’s Day. I decided it would become a halter top instead of a dress since I didn’t think a dress would be long. This was one of the first projects I reconned myself, so I love it despite its imperfections.

The J!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 9:51 pm

    that. is. awesome.

Leave a comment