Skip to content

Toddler reversible apron and felt food gift

August 1, 2011

The basket of felt food and a reversible apron were made as a holiday gift exchange in 2008 for a very creative son of the awesome Avi from The Mamafesto: Where Motherhood and Feminism Collide. Check out the facebook page at The Mamafesto (“Writing about feminism, parenting, pop culture and any random thing that gets me thinking or sets me off”) and be sure to click “like!” Her articles are always thought-provoking and challenge conventional “norms” of motherhood. She’s started a “This is What a Feminist Looks Life” series that I am looking forward to reading with a giant mug of coffee.

I wanted to make the apron reversible with an applique of his first initial. I didn’t use a pattern, but instead drafted one using newspaper and his measurements. I’m pretty sure I used 2 fat quarters and some ribbon, making this project less than $5 total. It could even be free if you raid your stash! For the “e,” I used fusible webbing and stitched around the edges on each piece before I stitched them right sides together with the ribbons on the inside. I actually traced the letter backwards on the paper side of the fusible webbing, but have since learned to just cut a square and cut out the letter that way–much easier! Then I turned it inside out, poked out all the corners, and top stitched around the entire thing. I used light blue thread on the top and orange thread in the bobbin, both threads being the same brand/type.

To go along with his food theme, I also made some felt food. Again, I had no pattern because I was too cheap to buy patterns. I figured I had decent knowledge of what the food looked like, and I could just try my best to replicate it. Since 2008, an explosion of patterns have been made available online. I hand stitched most of it and filled them with polyfill. I really liked puffing up the butter pats! If I made them in the future, now that I have lots of wool, I’d probably use wool instead of acrylic-based wool, especially now that I’ve learned to either needle felt or wet felt my own sheets.

pancakes with syrup and butter pats, wedge of cheese, loaf of bread with velcro bread slice, carrots, and an eggplant!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    August 1, 2011 11:34 am

    Love the apron and the fruit!!!

Leave a Reply

