Skip to content

Cupcake Dress

July 8, 2011

My baby has now turned 2! She loves cupcakes and calls them “birthdays,” so what better way to welcome her into the Terrible Twos than with a cupcake birthday dress? She also loves stars, so I got a fat quarter of purple star print fabric to make the sashing.

She got so excited when I showed it to her! Cupcakes, balloons, bubbles–perfect day in a 2 year-old’s life!

Somehow, a disposable diaper got washed and left these gel beads everywhere. The entire load now feels sort of worn out and papery even though I got those gel beads under control. I decided to use a braided strap tank top from Target and repurpose it into the cupcake dress.

I followed this excellently written tutorial for the Sweet Pleated Dress  on Make It and Love It.

I am very happy I chose to tackle pleats. For some reason they scared me, but then I felt ridiculous for being scared of a sewing technique and just tried it out. I found the rhythm of making pleats while not rushing was mindless and soothing. The trick is to adjust them so that you match the amount of fabric with the cut off bottom of the shirt.

Sewing french seams was a nice way to finish the seams since I don’t have a serger. I’ll definitely use that technique for future projects.

I think my favorite part is the cupcake applique I made using fusible webbing and a simple running stitch along the edges.

A happy birthday, indeed!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 1:37 am

    Adorable……great work! And happy birthday to your sweet little lady. So cute!!

  2. July 25, 2011 11:36 am

    Love it, super cute!

Leave a Reply

