Skip to content

Bargello Placemats

May 30, 2011

I am finally finished with my bargello placemats! I started in November, got as far as making the quilt sandwiches by Christmas, did the free motion quilting in March and April, and finished the bindings in May.

They were intended for my Mom for Christmas to match the colors in her kitchen. I’d been looking at bargello quilts online and decided I’d figure out how to make them, as they totally baffled me. I did some Lucy Math (never trust Lucy Math!) and bought some fat quarters and yardage. Here’s one of the Bargello Placemat instructions I used  loosely.

My first attempt came out nicely.

I thought making 6 would be easy, because they are small. Instead, I found myself making 6 small quilts. 24 edges to bind instead of 6. Oops! I also ran out of fabric for various sashes and backings. Oops, again! The final straw was when I ran out of binding and had to buy double-sided bias tape in a pinch.

I found that hand stitching the binding on a quilt, once my least favorite part of making a quilt, is now actually a nice thing to look forward to in the evening in front of some bad TV. Hand stitching is rhythmic and allows me to zone out while concentrating at the same time. It allows me to slow down and think about all sorts of things that don’t cross my mind when juggling 2 kids’ needs under 2 years day in and day out.

I am also really quick to point out the errors and mistakes I made when giving the bundle to my mom. Why would I do that? I really don’t want my default setting to be one that throws me under the bus in the first breath. I am proud to say that I am proud of my handiwork; most importantly, I am proud that I am listening to the lessons I learned throughout this process.

And now, the placemats!

Six bargello placemats

The backs

Close up on the topo map-like contour free motion quilting

Quilted lines on the back

Rolled up ready to give to Mom

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    May 30, 2011 8:38 am

    Love them! Did you give them to your mom yet?

  2. June 1, 2011 3:51 pm

    AWESOME and tedious!!! You are a whizard!
    Hand Sewing Meditation Ommmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!

    Does Mom love them or what?!

Leave a Reply

