Skip to content

the thing with feathers

May 27, 2011

I have always wanted to make fiber artwork inspired by literature. I did make a few batts inspired by Wuthering Heights, Dahl’s The BFG, and Thing 1 and Thing 2.

inspired by the moor in Wuthering Heights

golden fizzwizard dream from The BFG

frobscottle batt from The BFG

Thing 1 and Thing 2 batt

I made my friend a small felted flat piece, combining batt scraps, needle felting, and free motion machine stitching. I figured why not stitch on felt? I’ve seen it on Quilting Arts TV and on various pieces in felting books and etsy.

Next: Poetry 
I used Emily Dickinson’s “Hope is the thing with feathers” as inspiration. I am really excited about exploring this poem more in future pieces.

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

the thing with feathers.

I chose the ice blue wool for the “chillest land” and “strangest sea” for the background.

I love everything about Lisa Klakulak’s video on Free Motion Stitching on Felt:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 9:50 pm

    Dude, you blow my mind with your sewing stuff. I still struggle with getting the tension right on the bobbin thread! 😀

  2. Christina permalink
    May 27, 2011 9:51 pm

    So cool! I’d love to see it in person!

  3. May 27, 2011 10:31 pm

    It is with a very, very special lady ❤

Leave a Reply

