Skip to content

Mama See Mama Do Institute of Art: Free Motion Quilting

May 15, 2011

If you recall from October, I set out a rather ambitious bucket list of art skills I wanted to explore. I have not forgotten! I’ve had a baby since then and am finally getting some quality ME time to get back into crafting and learning.

One of my classes was from the Intermediate Quilting category. I called it “Thread Sketching 101: Using the Needle as a Pencil.”

I am happy to report that I have actually kept up with a sketch square, where I can try out different threads and designs. The most helpful thing this sketch square has done is give me the freedom to explore without “messing up.” I started this idea at a machine quilting workshop at Wish Upon A Quilt in 2009.

The darker blue threads are from my old Brother machine that I’ve since sold at a yard sale. I didn’t have a free motion foot, so some of it’s a bit wonky and sloppy. The orange/yellow variegated thread, pebbles, and “Charlotte” script are from my latest attempt with a free motion foot made especially for my Husqvarna 545 Lily machine. It is so exciting for me to see a tangible record to see my progress in just a few short months.

I still have several “lessons” I want to teach myself. The next one involves the Kona Charm Pack Challenge in Dusty Palette from the Triangle Modern Quilt Guild‘s July activity.

The Challenge Rules:

Here’s the challenge, should you choose to accept it: make something from the charm pack to show off at our July guild meeting.  It can be a mini quilt, table runner, larger quilt, wall hanging, pillow(s), bags, stuffed toys … basically, whatever you can dream up.  You can supplement the charm pack with ONE additional fabric (solid or print), but that’s it.  (Backing and binding for quilts is fair game — use whatever you want for those, and it won’t count as your one additional fabric.)

I’d love to use each square to showcase a different design featured in 365 days of free motion quilting from Leah Day’s blog, The Free Motion Quilting Project.   I’m still trying to decide on a quilt design, but at least I have a starting point!

To see what other people have done with this challenge, check out the MQG Robert Kaufman Kona Solids Challenge Quilt Flickr Pool.  You can also view all the charm pack colors here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 4:30 pm

    Congratulations on the new bebe, Lucy!!! I take it her name is Charlotte? I was wondering what had happened to you and now it all makes sense. 🙂 So glad that you’re getting the chance to get back into crafting and all that good stuff.

  2. May 16, 2011 10:45 pm

    Yes, she’s Charlotte! 2 under 2 is crazy, but I think I might actually get more writing and crafting in if I just schedule it regularly as part of my daily rhythm. I’m getting a lot done this way in small increments. It’s rather nice!

  3. May 19, 2011 3:38 pm

    LOVE it LUCY!!!! you continue to BLOW my mind with your creative brilliance and balance of doing what you love and taking care of some many sweet beings too! I love you & look forward to you learning more stuff so I can keep oooing and awwwwing over you! Love!

  4. May 26, 2011 1:53 am

    I love this free style quilting Lucy! I just stopped by here to see if you had any quilting tips for me and am amazed as always at how much you get done in a day. With one little one my hands are quite full so I am impressed that you are still creating and blogging! Thanks for sharing your resources, I’m about to make my first quilt and I’m sure it will benefit from what you’ve got to say ♥

  5. May 27, 2011 12:48 am

    I’ve got to, as it keeps me sane!

Trackbacks

  1. Threadhead « Mama See Mama Do

Leave a Reply

