Skip to content

Drop Spindle Basics: From Fibers to Yarn

October 29, 2010

I am more than halfway through my first class at MSMDIA on my Winter 2010 class schedule. I made the mini-lessons be:
Carding and preparing a batt to spin
Drafting Techniques
How to Operate a Drop Spindle without using a leader yarn
Finishing your yarn

Carding and preparing a batt to spin

I used some chocolate brown wool from Lee at Wicked Good Farm and some mango orange roving from http://www.ornamentea.com/. Some sparkly orange firestar found its way in.

After I had my batt made, I needed to learn how to tear it apart to get it ready to draft.

I learned how to do that from these videos:

For Drafting Techniques and How to Operate a Drop Spindle without using a leader yarn I watched this video from Abby Franquemont, the author of Respect The Spindle:

For How to Finish Your Yarn, I’m going to watch

The finished product:

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 11:24 pm

    Those are the same videos I watched when I was learning how to spin. I love that color combo! And, for a first drop spindle, it looks great!

Leave a Reply

