Skip to content

Best/worst handmade gift ever

October 17, 2010

Handmade holidays! My dream would be to lovingly handcraft awesome gifts appreciated and envied by all who come in contact with them, even far beyond the holiday because they’d be used and displayed forever.┬áBut that’s not how it goes most of the time.

“Handmade holidays” might conjure up memories of Granny’s ill-fitting crochet toilet paper cozies. However, with websites like etsy and an explosion of handmade craft fairs all over the nation, handcrafted gifts seem here to stay for a long time.

Handcrafting holiday gifts can be a tricky trail to hike. One has to consider the gift recipient, his or her tastes, interests, lifestyle, and appreciation for The Craft (no, not that movie). Why waste time on something if it is either not useful or appreciated?

What is the best handcrafted gift you’ve ever received? Why did you like it so much? Likewise, what’s the worst one you received, or the one that made you feel guilty about not wanting it but accepting it anyway? What is something handmade you are coveting or wish someone had given to you at one point? What handmade gifts are you making this year?

Post away–I can’t wait to hear responses.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    October 17, 2010 1:20 pm

    My friend Sarah’s mother knit my daughter the most beautiful baby bunting. Caroline wore it all the time when she was teeny tiny. She also made a beautiful hat and booties. I was blown away.

    Can’t think of a bad hand made gift… wish I could!

  2. Mom permalink
    October 17, 2010 6:38 pm

    Red long sleeved dress with white smocking and white collar and cuffs for you when you were a baby, the farm animal quilt that you got and we use for Hannah Claire now, the shoebox recipe box wrapped in Christmas paper you made me when you were little that I used until it fell apart last year. There were so many and I can’t think of any worst hand-made gifts.

  3. Sally permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:34 am

    My mom crocheted a lot of toys and dress-up gear for my boys, all of which are loved. The worst, though, was when my college boyfriend knit me a pair of pink fuzzy legwarmers. I had no idea what to say. They weren’t remotely my style. The relationship didn’t last long after that.

  4. October 20, 2010 12:01 pm

    I feel very lucky to have some talented friends, who make the raddest homemade things. However when I read this blog I immediately thought of the AWESOME wall hanging Lucy made me! It is amazing, it looks like my son & I under a tree with an owl/hawk in it and the moon. It even has some silver stitching stars streaming throughout it, I treasure it & it adorns my wall happily!
    I think perhaps the homemade gift I really disliked was multiplication cards, my Aunt so lovingly made me when I was in 2nd grade…really math cards as a gift hmmm….
    This year I’m making these little altar boxes out of recycled mint tins & old cards that people have given me. So on the outside maybe a quote then when you open it may contain pictures of Jesus & Hanuman…or an angel or purple mountains or something. They are all different & are being created for the people I’ll be gifting them to. They are inspired by Milagros boxes. I am loving this homemade craft b/c I am finally emptying out the shoe-boxes of old cards that I was saving to eventually “do something with” and actually doing something with them. I also like not throwing these little tins in the landfill.
    Yay for handmade gifts & this rocking blog!

Leave a Reply

