Skip to content

May you be kissed with fire, too

June 7, 2010

I am turning 30 today. For a while, I’ve been trying to think about what it means to be an “adult.” I realize how I had these images of who adults Are and what they Do when I was younger, and how those schemas were either shattered or melted away when grew older and paid attention. As such, I’ve been turning to creativity more and more as I realize that trying to figure things out long term is pretty futile, because I always lose sight of the present moment while I am busy Thinking Hard. Creating allows me to focus just on what is going on that moment and work with my hands synced with my mind to produce a reflection of that moment.

I love challenges that put me outside of my comfort zone, that make my hands sweat. I love to take risks, especially in things that have to do with making some sort of leap in skill or faith. I have wanted to fire hoop since my friends Meghan and Grayson of the Pickle Mamas naturally found fire hoops through various circles. To me, fire hooping used to seem completely forbidden and insane, but it felt like the next step the more I thought about it. I studied several videos of Meghan and other fire hoopers to check out their sweet moves and to see how the mechanics and logistics of setting something on fire and then spinning it around your core actually looked like while removing emotions like fear and wonder.

Grayson gave me an excellent, clear, and concise lesson the night of my 30th birthday party outside in my back yard. I consciously decided to attempt to silence my ego to squelch all the thoughts that would race through anyone’s head before stepping into a giant, burning ring of fire. “What if I set my head on fire? What if I burn my house down?” I just went for it and did what Grayson told me to do and let it go!

Being surrounded by licking flames is really awesome, I’m not going to lie. My skin grew warm, and so did my insides. I had the biggest grin on my face the entire time as I just kept spinning around and watching the flames trail around in all directions.

When I stepped out of the hoop and blew out the wick for a giant birthday wish, I hadn’t set myself or my house on fire. I felt ALIVE. Not lucky to be alive, but truly alive from the inside. I was forced to just live in that moment right then, and it has seemed to really change my perspective on life by just 5 or so minutes of fire hooping.  It is my birthday wish that we all are able to, just for at least a fleeting moment, let every negative emotion just go for a moment and GO FOR IT in life. It’s a great feeling. If hooping in a ring of fire does it for you, then do it. If you are beating yourself up for something, stop. If you are swimming in negativity, tear off the shutters and let the light shine in. When you do, you will feel a great glow from the inside mix with the feeling that you’ve been kissed by fire.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 7:51 pm

    Happy Birthday! I’m not sure I would have been as brave as you.
    I’m just stopping by to say hi and thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you have a happy summer. Come by and join the summer bucket list party next week if you have a chance.

  2. Tanya permalink
    June 7, 2010 10:11 pm

    Wow! Happy Birthday!

  3. Lynda Hughes permalink
    June 11, 2010 11:55 am

    Happy Birthday Lucy,
    Don and I could not believe the photos of you with the fire hoop. amazing.

    We are staying busy. Don and I have both been working for the Census. I have finished and Don will work another week or two. I still have my part-time job in the copy and print center of Staples.

    Last weekend, Eddie and Jill enjoyed an anniversary weekend and Holly spent the night with us. We all had a wonderful time.

    You and Michael need to come to the beach condo this summer. Let’s check out dates.

    Love,
    Lynda

  4. June 14, 2010 10:18 am

    LUCY!!!! We love to witness you shine, as you step boldly into your power, and hoist your sails to the winds of grace that propel you to materialize your hearts dreams in this physical plane, here now!
    We love you our fiery sister of the hoop! Can’t wait to burn with you again! Blessings Love & Happiest of Birthdays & May the Fire of Transformation always burn within you brightly!

  5. Gavin Jones permalink
    October 3, 2010 5:32 pm

    … and we saw it, in-person ;0

Leave a Reply

