Skip to content

Why I want to work in fibers

February 15, 2010

“Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, magic, and power in it.”–Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe


“The entrepreneur is essentially a visualizer and actualizer… He can visualize something, and when he visualizes it he sees exactly how to make it happen.” –Robert L. Schwartz

I was warned. told me fiber arts would be addictive. I don’t recall having an opinion either way because the dazzling array of yarn, fleece, top, locks, sari silks, glitter drawers, and strange contraptions that look like medieval torture devices filled me with awe. Hypnotized by the coiled yarns and fascinated with the violent force one needs to have to create textured art batts on a drum carder, working with natural fibers is my latest Calling of the Moment.

Even, spikey pins on drum carders aren’t the only dual duty torture devices. In order to felt, one must apply lots of agitation, hot water, cold water, soap, scrub, slap, slam, rub, knead, rinse, mold, shape, etc. So many verbs are involved! I believe I will experience a similar type of satisfaction one feels after working with her hands to create something tangible.

I am going to set an intention. According to Marcia Weider, four steps can help me organize all my creative energy into a streamlined, logical process. Lord knows I need some sort of focus and guidance if I am going to be serious about myself.

“First Steps:

1. Get clear about something you want and write it down.
Tonight I want to learn to felt soap I bought for $2 at Whole Foods in Aloe Oatmeal using wool roving. I’m using some gray tights I never wear. I will watch the silliest DVRed show I can possibly find, knowing I have many to select. I will call it a Crab Nebula Felted Soap, the idea being since we can’t have a nebula for real, we can at least wash ourselves with a fuzzy nebula that fits in palms nicely.
2. Share your intention with someone in a way that will supportively hold you accountable to taking action.
I need everyone who reads this message to hound me using any social media contact you might have for me in all various forums and online worlds so that I will post pictures when I am done to hold myself accountable.

3. Do something today to demonstrate your commitment to your intention.


The Orion Nebula

Inspired by this image of the Orion nebula captured by Hubble, I used merino wool roving to felt 2 Almonds, 1 Aloe Oatmeal, and 1 Lavender bar I picked up at Whole Foods today.

4. Acknowledge that you did what you said you would and then, take the next step.
Dear all, I acknowledge that I did what I said I was going to do. Please leave me some feedback on the felted soaps. Personally, I think they are super rad. Nebula Soaps! The felt will not mold and acts as a washcloth. When the soap runs out, you can use the felt somewhere else! No waste. Use baking soda to clean your bathtub and you can really get greenclean.

By setting an intention, you make it clear to yourself and others, just what you plan to do. Set an intention to redefine what it means to be serious about your dreams.”

Honestly, the real pith is

I’d like to thank Jean Gray Drake for sharing Sharron Parker with me; in turn, I passed along a link to to her for a beautiful magazine about scroll sawing! This past week has been filled with images of fluffy, colorful wool. I have gobbled up any bit of information I can find about felting, carding, wool, roving, merino v. corriedale, etc. I will definitely be in the market for a drum carder (let me know if you see a decent used one out there…thanks).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

