Skip to content

Scrappy Love

February 3, 2010

“I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day. When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon.” –Unknown

I will spend my first Valentine’s as a mom soon. I swear, I used to be ho-hum about this holiday, but I am super stoked. V-Day appears to not be lacking in craft ideas. I am not really a frou-frou pink hearts and lace person anyway, so I will just have to invent my own crafts. I’ll show you what I did and then leave you with some fun links. Any holiday that encourages massive amounts of chocolate consumption with an abundance of silly, frilly little girls’ outfits? Yes, please.

I found some adult women’s socks at JoAnn’s with ladybugs on them that say “love bug.” When I saw them, I immediately thought I had to buy them to turn into leg warmers with feet.

A plain red onesie was begging to be redone, so I used the leftover t-shirt scraps from the Holly Doll project for sleeves and a heart. Some ricrack from when I was little decorates the heart and neckline.

Her outfit cost $4 total, the cost of socks. The whole entire ensemble took me less than 15 minutes to make.

If you want to make Babylegs, check out these sites:

Pictorial Tutorial from Craftster.org

eHow tutorial with words for directions (no pictures)

Crafts that look pretty fun

And since we’re looking at heart-themed tutorials, here’s a different kind of heart tutorial.

Please post if you know of Valentine’s crafts that are fun, easy, and cheap to do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 6:26 pm

    That’s adorable. Lucy, you NEED an etsy shop! I’ve been thinking that if I ever get my act together I’ll open one…

  2. Christina permalink
    February 3, 2010 7:59 pm

    I might have to go buy those socks now too! HC looks ridiculously cute! I feel like I haven’t seen her (or you for that matter) in forever.

Trackbacks

  1. Reconned kid’s halter, fish, bicycles, and vintage ric-rac « Mama See Mama Do

Leave a Reply

