Skip to content

Jesus is my friend

January 28, 2010

My mom has given me bin after bin of childhood books, toys, ornaments, keepsakes, academic records, etc. Stay tuned for several posts involving memories brought to the surface!

When I was small and lived in Huntington, WV, my family attended a church at the YWCA. We met in the little auditorium. I found this drawing of what Sunday must have looked like:

As you can see, I drew every single detail. From the hardwood floorboards to the exit sign, nothing escaped my doodling radar. I put the drawing on facebook and tagged everyone that would appreciate the memory. I had so many funny comments on my drawing, so I wanted to explore my memories a little more.

One of the things I vividly remember was Sunday School class. We would sit in what was some sort of parlor with billowy white curtains at folding card tables. The lesson would involve lots of singing (in a separate room with lots of couches) and paper biblical characters put up on a felt board. The teacher would read the story from a curriculum manual and move the paper shepherds/angels/around the felt board while I picked at the embroidered hearts on my tights.

The Christmas season brought some excellent craft opportunities to the YWCA’s parlor. Recently, my mom handed over some childhood ornaments. I found this gem from when I was 4:

This craft must have been someone’s brilliant idea for Sunday School craft time. I am definitely looking forward to the little art treasures HC will create. I think I like the ornament because I could recreate it using materials already in my house: yarn, paper from FHA mortgage junk mail, images from magazines, my Hannah Montana glue stick, etc.

When Dan came over to eat Hot Mama Lasagna (recipe coming soon!), he spied the ornament and introduced me to another gem:

HOW did this music video escape my YouTube radar?! I am so incredibly full of joy now that I have another super Baby Dance Party song. I am not too cool for school to admit that I’ve been punching PLAY repeatedly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Zach permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:52 pm

    Wow, thank you for that…I too have a friend in Jesus and now I have a song that truly captures those feelings!

Leave a Reply

