Skip to content

The Holly Doll for the Hollydays

January 21, 2010

Studying this doll my mom made showed me some techniques I used as inspiration to make a Holly Doll for HC’s cousin Holly. Holly’s daddy has red hair, so I wanted to use yard with some red in it and learn how to make a doll wig.

Using a tan shirt that was too small for me, I sewed and stuffed some limbs. I added a body and a head and sewed on the limbs. I started to wonder if I was making E.T. instead of a girl.

Holly’s red dress came from another tee shirt that no longer fit. Her green ribbons and trim have little hollies on them, and came from my ribbon stash. Her hair is from a “scarf” that never got made and I still had the yarn sitting around.

If you look at her feet, you can see how I’ve used some thread and a doll needle to make her some little toes. Embroidery is not my best skill, but I am pleased with her happy expression.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 3:28 pm

    Yay! Holly says she’s glad she got a Holly doll and not an ET. hehe…

Leave a Reply

