Skip to content

When I Grow Up, I Want To Be…

January 7, 2010

I taught high school English for six years. During those years, I taught grades 9, 10, 11, 12, yearbook, and newspaper. While teaching high school had some incredibly rewarding experiences, I was so dismayed at all the OTHER stuff that got in the way of my freedom to explore text with students. Increasingly unhappy with teaching in the public school system, I am grateful for my year of unpaid family leave to have this time to explore other careers. I really have zero desire to return to the high school classroom at this time in my life, but I still really love to teach. What to do?

I teach as an adjunct instructor two nights a week at Wake Tech. I love teaching there! It is still rewarding, and I have a lot of freedom I was missing at the high school level. As I would get the mail in the Evening Division, I noticed posters on the wall touting course gift certificates for continuing education classes.

Since I am entirely self-taught from internet tutorials on Photoshop techniques, I figured I could use a “real” classroom experience to learn some skills. Searching for classes in the system, I wandered over to Computer & Engineering Technologies. My heart raced when I saw the three Web Technologies certificate programs! As I opened the file, my palms got sweaty. I heard a small voice that I knew wasn’t MGMT streaming from my iTunes. I leaned forward and faintly but unmistakably heard,

“Youuuuu should get a certificate in Web Design! Register for Internet/Web Fundamentals riiiiiight nooooow!”

How could I deny that sweet Siren Song?

I am now proudly registered for the class!

This course introduces World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) standard markup language and services of the Internet. Topics include creating web pages, search engines, FTP, and other related topics. Upon completion, students should be able to deploy a hand-coded website created with mark-up language, and effectively use and understand the function of search engines. Topics include HTML, XHMTL.

Wooooweeee! I am going to be a Web Designer. It makes total sense. Way back in 1995, I used to use this text-only chat program through the local paper. In 1998 while doped up on pain meds from my wisdom teeth extraction, I taught myself HTML and made some colorful websites. In grad school, we had a “choose your own” exam style, and I pulled the website creation. My first year teaching, I had my 9th grade students blogging on a topic once a week, which was one of the top 3 best lesson plan ideas I ever came up with (probably in the shower, where I get a lot of my thinking done). I’ve even had my students write their own wikis to take the place of a traditional research paper. I love to design, create, write, and mess with technology. Why not learn how to turn this into a career? I might even get to freelance and work from home.

I just about swooned when I saw that the first assignment is to make a blog (using blogger only). I am going to pretend like I am a professional photographer, and set up my blog accordingly! Stay tuned for my creations this semester. This is the ultimate Mama See Mama Do. Mama sees a profession she never really explored. Mama gets EXCITED!! Mama registers for class. Mama sees how to do “teh interwebs.” Mama does assignments. Mama reinvents herself!

Please leave a comment if you have also reinvented yourself, had a professional revelation that empowered you, or got started yourself in web design! I really look forward to reading about them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    January 7, 2010 10:52 am

    Awesome, Lucy!

  2. January 10, 2010 3:07 pm

    Hey Luc!
    It’s me Camille from Carolina!

    I never though I would end up in a high school classroom- and now you’d have to pay me to leave.

    You never know where you’re headed until you get there. I think it’s awesome you’re exploring and getting excited!

    I love your blog!

    • January 12, 2010 3:04 pm

      HEY! Good to hear from you! I am way excited that you love your job. In fact, it makes total sense to me that you would end up in the classroom!

Leave a Reply

