Skip to content

Of Mice and Men: Chocolate Cherry Mice

December 21, 2009

There are few pieces of literature that are as depressing and thought-provoking as Steinbeck’s simple yet profound story, Of Mice and Men. I won’t ruin the ending of it for you, but if you are supposed to teach this novel around the holiday season to 80+ high school juniors, it’s not exactly the most uplifting message to raise your spirits.

Instead of lesson planning last year, I decided to procrastinate by baking holiday treats. I wanted to make something memorable, tasty, and cute. Thinking about Lennie holding the dead mouse and him saying,  “I like to pet nice things with my fingers, sof things” made me think that some candy mice were in order. Browsing Craftster, I found McJulie-O’s Chocolate Cherry Mice instructions. The teachers I liked each got 2 wrapped up in red cellophane with cute ribbon. I used thick paper as a stabilizer on the bottom.

People went wild over my army of chocolate cherry mice. They’re really fun to make, and you can whip up a lot if you set up an assembly line and work quickly so the chocolate doesn’t hard before you can shove the almond slivered ears in there.

Mama, Make These Mice!

  • One package of chocolate-covered Keebler graham cookies (or your bobo store brand, whatever)
  • maraschino cherries with stems for the body
  • melty chocolate or bark (make sure you can melt it so it doesn’t clump up)
  • almond slivers for the ears
  • Hershey’s hugs for the face
  • liquid red gel food coloring in the tube for the eyes and nose
  • a shallow, wide tray or dish for storage
  • glass bowl for melting the chocolate
  • microwave or double boiler to melt chocolate
  • spatula
  • wax paper

Oh mouse, I'll trap you any day

I WILL EAT ALL OF YOU NOMNOMNOM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

