Skip to content

The heat is on! The heat is o–oon wo-oah woah woah

December 12, 2009

The art of writing is the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair.
—Mary Heaton Vorse

The early bird gets the worm. Don’t count all your chickens before they hatch. Don’t put all your eggs in one basket. Why do so many lessons on procrastination come from nature? The holiday procrastination emerged tonight.

I have just about 14 hours remaining until a holiday gathering. I have procrastinated so badly that the child is nearly one who should have received a quilt from me one month before her due date. Oops!

And please don’t mention the irony of me writing a post about procrastinating. Hear me out. I need to work through some blockage to be able to work on this piece. The quilt top is already completed, so that truly was the hard part. I’d rather just explore the fears I have of this piece rather than make lame-o excuses for not finishing the thing. Time to unleash my flow and light some Nag Champa on the shrine to Goddess Craftalicious up on Mount Fabric Stash.

Mental Barriers That Have Prevented Me From Finishing This Quilt:
*I wondered if my skills were good enough. I had never done free-motion quilting before. I have already tackled one quilt using free-motion quilting under pressure (yes, the topic is procrastination, lest I forget), so I can move forward now.
*I wondered if the quilt top was ugly, or if the colors didn’t go together. I bought the fat quarters as a package deal, and didn’t think the striped material looked right. I do like the Bento Box pattern, though. After looking at the quilt again after some time has passed, I really think it’s fine.
*I wondered if the recipient would like it. I know her a little better now, and I think she will!
*I did present the quilt top to her at the baby shower, and then said I would finish the quilt later. I am totally mortified and embarrassed that I have not followed through, and it causes me anxiety. I worry about my anxiety, and then I am just a big mess, which then paralyzes me. LAME! The time has come for me to take a hammer and build a bridge so I can GET OVER MYSELF and finish this quilt!
*I was intimidated, I think, because I was also pregnant and in my first trimester when I started it. I was preoccupied with everything baby for a while, and I feel like I am emerging from the baby haze and functioning like a “normal” person and pace again.

I am so tired of living in fear! Ban the fear. Fear is the opposite of creativity. Creative people are not afraid of anything. They cannot take up the same space–one forces the other out. Which will it be?

If you want to read more about Fear v. Creativity, DailyOM offers Protecting Your Flow: How Fear Blocks Creativity. “When you’re up against fear, internal or external, ritual can be a powerful-and creative-antidote. Before you sit down to be creative, try casting a circle of protection around yourself. Visualize yourself inside a ring of light, protective fire, or angels. Imagine that this protective energy emanates unconditional love for you and wants to hear, see, and feel everything you have to express. Take a moment to bathe in the warmth of this feeling and then fearlessly surrender yourself to the power that flows through you.”

All right. That’s what I’ll do. I will cast a creative protective circle with images of all my fellow crafty mamas dancing with flowy movements that use knitting needles and fabric pieces in creative twists and undulations. I’m going to bathe in the warm flow of air from their softly fanning quilt templates. I can do this!

Another online handout on procrastination from UNC’s Writing Center was probably written long after I graduated, unless the person who was supposed to post it online put it aside to get to later…in 2002. “Writing” can be interchanged with anything creative, really.

I’ve got a hot beverage, good music, cheery lighting, a sleeping babe, dog, and hubby, and now, a clear conscience. I feel like I can finally move forward and open up the channels to create.

P.S. Here is the quilt

7 Comments leave one →
  1. bennett permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:39 am

    so pretty! Did you do this all in one night??

  2. December 14, 2009 11:42 am

    Well, yes, I did…one night a year ago. This was the quilt top that was causing the procrastinator sewer’s guilt.

  3. Annie permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:00 pm

    Okay, I wandered over from TM, and now I’m looking at this quilt top and feeling DESPERATELY inadequate. It’s so lovely! Even if you never get it done, you must say to yourself, “I got it this far, and it just looks DIVINE.” Very, very nice work!

  4. December 15, 2009 11:21 pm

    I happened to randomly find your post here through wordpress and I just wrote a piece and did a podcast about my experiences with fear in quilting (and science – the blog is both science and quilting). I am glad I found your post because its the type of thing I was talking about. Thanks for posting about the writing thing – I find it helpful.

    – Darla
    http://scientificquilter.wordpress.com

  5. January 22, 2010 11:04 pm

    I have an xmas quilt that I pieced one year, and hand quilted the next… it remains unbound…. Jenny was a baby then, and now she’s 7. I have another quilt that got pieced and pillow-case-turned backed… but never quilted…. Danny was a baby then, and now he’s 17…. I think you’re doing beautifully!

Trackbacks

  1. Tee Shirt Pants « Mama See Mama Do
  2. 3.3 Podcast 7 Fun with Fibonacci « Scientific Quilter

Leave a Reply

