Skip to content

PIP, PIP, Hooray!

December 9, 2009

I am very committed to exclusively breastfeeding HC until she’s at least 6 months old. This story truly demonstrates this dedication!

I had some rather hilarious Pumping in Public (PIP) experiences this weekend. On Saturday, hubs and I left HC with my mom to go see Phish up in Charlottesville. Since we were staying with some friends who were doing a run of some shows, we had to meet up with them at the hotel. We got a ride to the show with one of their friends, so I had to bring my Pump In Style into the concert, since we were getting home another way.

I picked a security line specifically with a male. I had granola, drinks, other snacks, a camera, bottles, parts, etc. in my bag. I just opened the top for security check, and said loudly, “It’s a breastpump!” and beamed at the guy, who waved me through as fast as he could!

I am walking around with this backpack pump on my back the whole concert. I don’t need to pump at the concert, and wasn’t sure of our plans after the show.

We wandered around Charlottesville in the cold, visiting the Harris Teeter in the process, and ended up at Wild Wings or something, so I go pump while we’re waiting for our food. I lock myself into the smaller stall of the two in the bathroom, and hear the most hilarious comments from really drunk people, like, “What the hell is that noise!?” and stuff like that.

This one girl with these shiny pink high heels banged on the side of the stall, and said, “What the @(#$ ARE YOU DOING IN THERE?” and slurred all her words.

I yell back, “Extracting Liquid Gold!” hahahahhaa

It just killed me to dump the milk right into the toilet! It was much worse than seeing Bomber, the dead state fair goldfish that lived 30 hours, spinning around and around in 6th grade.

When we finally made it back to the hotel, there was a boisterous crowd in the room where we were staying, so I just took out my pump, sat by the window, threw a blanket over me, and pumped while the party raged on. It was so loud that no one knew I was pumping!

On the way back home, I had to dump out my milk on the ground of a nasty gas station in Midlothian, VA. RIP liquid gold. You will be missed.

What does all this have to do with my blog?
1. I make milk. This blog features free or nearly-free ideas. Last time I checked, I didn’t pay myself to make milk.
2. I brought my hippie sock puppet that I made when I couldn’t find the other sock, and I wanted an excuse to learn how to make doll hair.

Stay tuned for my sock puppet post with accompanying video!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth Wade permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:47 pm

    Dude. That’s hard core.

Leave a Reply

